27 Jul '11, 6pm

Ask the Rules Guy: Boulder-dash, lost and found and hole out

Ask the Rules Guy: Boulder-dash, lost and found and hole out

• Got a Rules question? Zip it to [email protected] Hey, R.G.: My partner landed his second shot directly behind a large "man-placed" (but real) boulder. He could have moved it and then played his shot, but he decided to just move the ball and take a stroke penalty. Since the boulder is not natural to the environment but a decoratively placed feature, could he have moved the boulder without penalty? — Ed Joyce, Las Vegas, Nev. Regardless of whether it got there by way of avalanche or pickup truck, a natural stone of any size can be considered a loose impediment. Decision 23-1/2 allows a player to move a rock of any size that's in front of his ball, with the important caveat that moving the rock does not unduly slow down the pace of play. Another fun fact: If the rock proved too big for him to handle on his own, Decision 23-1/3 says that you (or any caddie, player or specta...

Full article: http://www.golf.com/golf/instruction/article/0,28136,2081...

Tweets

Ask the Rules Guy: Separation anxiety, a righteous path and raising the bar

Ask the Rules Guy: Separation anxiety, a righte...

golf.com 27 Jul '11, 6pm

• Got a Rules question? Zip it to [email protected] Dear Rules Guy: When I was at the top of my backswing, the head of my ...

Xcel Says Boulder Is Missing Out On A Green Opp...

nawindpower.com 28 Jul '11, 5pm

Xcel Energy believes the City of Boulder has missed out on a huge opportunity by denying its citizens a chance to vote on ...

Green Building Rules Vary Widely, But Lessons A...

environmentalleader.com 27 Jul '11, 5pm

The Institute for Market Transformation report, Building Energy Transparency , says that in the absence of federal policy,...

O'Hair wins Canadian Open on 1st playoff hole: ...

golf.com 25 Jul '11, 2pm

VANCOUVER, British Columbia (AP) — Sean O'Hair was too happy to end a miserable slump with a win at the Canadian Open to f...